Radiating Hope: Radiology Department Blog


Dr. Neil Johnson: Recipient of Janet Pettit Scholar Award

Dr. Neil Johnson: Recipient of Janet Pettit Scholar Award

Congratulations, Dr. Neil Johnson, on being recognized with the Janet Pettit Scholar Award and for the significant contributions that he has made to patient care!

“The Association for Vascular Access created the Janet Pettit Scholar recognition to honor and commemorate outstanding contributions to the art and science of neonatal and pediatric vascular access. Dr. Pettit epitomized the mission and values of our organization.

This year, AVA and the Pediatric Special Interest Group recognizes Dr. Neil Johnson, MB, BS, M.Med, FRANZCR as the 2018 Janet Pettit Scholar. Dr. Neil Johnson is an outstanding pediatric interventional radiologist and internationally respected expert and colleague. His numerous publications include landmark work on optimal catheter tip location and decreasing infiltration through color-coded categorization of infusates. The impact of his contributions has been immeasurable, leading to global recognition and adoption that has benefited infants and children worldwide. His pioneering vision inspired his leadership as the medical director to build a cutting edge pediatric vascular access team in one of the leading children’s hospitals in the United States. He is well-regarded as a collaborative mentor and passionate champion for evidence-based practice and positive outcomes in pediatric vascular access.

In honor of the life work of Dr. Janet Pettit, please join AVA and the Pediatric Special Interest Group as we congratulate Dr. Neil Johnson as the 2018 Janet Pettit Scholar.”

Contributed by Dr. Brian Coley and edited by Glenn Miñano, BFA.

Avatar photo

About the author: Glenn Miñano

Glenn Miñano is a media specialist in the Department of Radiology, providing graphic design, photography, printing, video services, and administration of the department’s online properties. His works have been published in several medical articles, such as the American Journal of Radiology and the American Institute of Ultrasound. He has been providing these services to the Radiology Department since 1996.